Global Navigation

Lilian Chang
Race Track Memory Figures
ECH 98 Students
Lilian Chang selected as 2014 winner of Allen G. Marr Distinguished Dissertation Award

Congratulations to Lilian Chang who was selected as the 2014 winner of the Allen G. Marr Distinguished Dissertation Award. This is the highest award for a dissertation at UC Davis. She will also be the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science university's nominee for the CGS/University Microfilms International Dissertation Award.

SRC and UCD Researchers develop next-generation "Race Track Memory" technologies

University of California, Davis researchers, sponsored by Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC), are currently exploring new materials and device structures to develop next-generation memory technologies. UC Davis' Takamura Research Group has been conducting research which involves leveraging complex oxides to manipulate magnetic domain walls within the wires of semiconductor memory devices at nanoscale dimensions.

Recent work by Professor Bruce Gates Appears in Nature Nanotechnology

Recent work from the lab of Professor Bruce Gates appears in Nature Nanotechnology, one of the premier journals in its field. The research presents the Gates' lab development of new nanosensitive selective catalysts. In the same issue, Gates' research is discussed in a "New & Views" feature that highlights the significance of the work in its ability to program the electronic environment of active sites on metal surfaces, and indicates the significance for development of synthetic catalysts in which activity and selectivity can be carefully controlled.

Class of 2011 Class of 1976

Thank you for joining us May 2-3, 2014 to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science! The department welcomed all alumni, current students, faculty and staff to celebrate. Visit our official 50th anniversary celebration page for more information, photos, T-shirt orders, and how to stay in touch.

link to donate